2006-2007 stats



Antetokounmpo. Antetokounmpo. Antetokounmpo. Antetokounmpo. Qualified for EuroBasket 2022, Greece is one of the most anticipated teams, not least because of the four Antetokounmpo brothers, led by the "Greek Freak", Giannis, who has dominated the NBA for several years now.

The Greek national basketball team is also a team that is eager to establish itself as a dominant European basketball nation and win another medal, having narrowly missed out on a number of medals at world and continental tournaments:

  • 4th place at the 1994 and 1998 FIBA World Cups
  • 4th place at EuroBasket 1993, 1995, 1997 and 2007
  • 5th place in his last three Olympic Games, Atlanta 1996, Athens 2004, Beijing 2008

But still has some successes:

  • European Championship: two titles (in 1987 and 2005)
  • World Championship: one silver medal (in 2006)
  • Olympic Games: no medals

And while Greece did not qualify for the Tokyo Olympics, its last FIBA competition was the 2019 World Cup. A competition in which the Greeks did not manage to go further than the second round. The fault of an extremely tough group, composed of the United States, the Czech Republic and Brazil.

The twelve players who participated in these last FIBA World Cup with the Greek national team, led by the coach Thanasis Skourtopoulos, are:

Giannoulis Larentzakis - Nick Calathes - Ioannis Bourousis - Kostas Sloukas - Georgios Papagiannis - Georgios Printezis - Kostas Papanikolaou - Vangelis Mantzaris - Ioannis Papapetrou - Panagiotis Vasilopoulos - Giannis Antetokounmpo - Thanasis Antetokounmpo

Nicknamed the "Greek Freak", Giannis Antetokounmpo is quite simply one of the most dominant players in the NBA, as well as one of the best players in the league. He won back-to-back NBA MVP awards in 2019 and 2020, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and LeBron James as the only players in NBA history to win two MVPs before turning 26. Along with his MVP award, he was also named NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 2020, becoming only the third player after Michael Jordan (1988) and Hakeem Olajuwon (1994) to win both awards in the same season. In 2021, Antetokounmpo led the Bucks to their first NBA championship since 1971 and was named Finals MVP. This makes him one of the most decorated players in basketball. He is without question one of the best Greek players.